Publications

Publications

evaluations-entreprises

The main approaches in business valuation

When you use the services of a Chartered Business Valuator (CBV), do you know what kind of work he will do to give you the most accurate assessment of the fair market value of a business? Do you have an idea of ​​the questions he asks himself, the decisions he has to make, and based on which factors? Depending on the business situation and available financial information, the CBV will choose one or more specific valuation methods to meet your [...]

Read more...
blog_estimer_valeur_entreprise

How to estimate the value of an established business?

As an owner, you may need to determine the value of your business. If your business is established, and its sales/profits are stable or growing steadily, and you get it appraised by a Chartered Business Valuator (CBV), it is likely that he will be using a method called “Capitalization of Maintainable Earnings” to determine the fair market value of your business. This valuation method also bears other names such as capitalization of earnings method. In this method, the business’s past [...]

Read more...
Principe 7

7 basic principles of business valuation : Principle 7

Principle nº 7: Absent a shareholders’ or other ownership agreement, or legislation or adjudicated legislative intent that dictates otherwise, the value of a controlling interest in a business may have a greater value per share than does a minority interest in that same business when each is viewed in isolation. The first 6 basic principles explained in the previous articles allowed the Chartered Business Valuator (CBV) to determine the total value of a business. The 7th principle, instead, revolves around [...]

Read more...
Acheter-ou-louer-entreprise

Can I lease a business instead of buying it?

First, let’s take a look at some known facts. I’ve seen many examples in practice of leasing part of a business. A hotel, for example, could decide to lease their restaurant instead of operating it themselves. But, what about leasing the whole business? To answer the question, let’s break a business down to its assets. We could separate the operating assets of a business between the tangible assets and the intangible assets. Tangible and intangible assets First things first, let’s [...]

Read more...

The 7 basic principles of business valuation : Principle 6

Principle nº 6 : Value is influenced by liquidity. The value of a business is influenced by its liquidity. Liquidity can refer to two concepts: How easy it is to sell a business and Liquidity of the assets in the business. In both cases, we refer to how easy it is to convert an asset into cash. In this article, we will discuss how easy, or not, it is to sell a business and the impact of this on its value. The liquidity of a business [...]

Read more...
Marketing-entreprise

Increasing the value and profitability

Marketing Being a Chartered Business Valuator and a chartered professional accountant, I have specialized in determining the fair market value of a business. I’m then in a great position to define ways to increase the profitability of businesses and their value. When I talk to clients who want to increase the profitability of their business or its value, it is not unusual for them to be advised that: “to increase the profitability of your business and its value, you just [...]

Read more...

The 7 basic principles of business valuation : Principle 5

Principe 5 : When the value is considered to be equal to the present value of all future benefits that the owner should accumulate, this value can have two distinct components: commercial (transferable) or non-commercial (or value to owner) value. The definition of fair market value refers, among other things, to the highest price that a buyer and a seller would be willing to transact. Without making any direct reference to it, it is clear that what interests a buyer is [...]

Read more...

Planning a business transfer

Are you planning to transfer your business? You are planning to retire in the next two to five years and would like to make a smooth transition. It’s a great idea to plan. The transfer of a business has several aspects to consider in addition to the financial one. How to properly plan the transfer of a business? What aspects should be considered? I can tell you more about this by presenting some important avenues that sometimes seem to [...]

Read more...

Publications

Publications

Augmentation de la valeur et de la rentabilité : la technologie

Comme expliqué dans l’un de mes articles précédents, je me suis associé, en 2016, à une équipe d’experts dans les domaines du marketing, de la technologie et des ressources humaines. En jumelant leurs connaissances à celles que j’ai moi-même acquises tout au long de ma carrière en tant qu’Expert en Évaluation d’Entreprises (EÉE) et de CPA, nous pouvons offrir des conseils plus spécialisés et adaptés aux besoins des clients qui désirent augmenter la rentabilité et la valeur de leur [...]

Lire la suite...
evaluations-entreprises

Les principales approches en évaluation d’entreprises

Lorsque vous avez recours aux services d’un expert en évaluation d’entreprises (EÉE), savez-vous quel type de travail il effectuera afin de vous donner l’évaluation la plus précise possible de la juste valeur marchande d’une entreprise ? Avez-vous une idée des questions qu’il se pose, des décisions qu’il doit prendre et en se basant sur quels facteurs ? Selon la situation de l’entreprise et l’information financière disponible, l’EÉE choisira une ou plusieurs méthodes d’évaluation particulière pour répondre à vos besoins. Pour [...]

Lire la suite...
blog_estimer_valeur_entreprise

Comment estimer la valeur d’une entreprise établie ?

En tant que propriétaire, il se peut que vous ayez à déterminer la valeur de votre entreprise. Si votre entreprise est établie, que les ventes et profits de celle-ci sont stables ou augmentent de façon régulière et que vous voulez la faire évaluer par un Expert en Évaluation d’Entreprise (EÉE), il est probable qu’il utilise une méthode d’évaluation appelée « la capitalisation des bénéfices nets représentatifs » afin de déterminer la juste valeur marchande de votre entreprise. Cette méthode [...]

Lire la suite...
Principe 7

Les 7 principes de base de l’évaluation d’entreprises : Principe 7

Principe nº 7 : La valeur d’une participation minoritaire peut être inférieure à la valeur d’une participation conférant le contrôle lorsqu’elles sont toutes deux mesurées « par action ». Les 6 premiers principes de base expliqués dans les articles précédents permettaient à l’expert en évaluation d’entreprises (EÉE) de déterminer la valeur totale d’une entreprise. Le 7e principe, quant à lui, tourne plutôt autour de la participation des actionnaires : la valeur d’une action peut-elle être différente pour un actionnaire ou pour un autre ? [...]

Lire la suite...
Acheter-ou-louer-entreprise

Puis-je louer une entreprise au lieu de l’acheter?

Selon vous, est-ce possible de louer une entreprise au lieu de l’acheter? Analysons la situation de plus près. Dans ma pratique, j’ai vu de nombreux exemples de la location d’une partie d’une entreprise. Un hôtel, par exemple, pourrait décider de louer son restaurant au lieu de l’opérer lui-même. Mais, qu’en est-il de la location de l’entreprise au complet? Pour répondre à la question, étudions les actifs d’une entreprise. Nous pouvons séparer les actifs opérationnels d’une entreprise de cette façon : [...]

Lire la suite...

Les 7 principes de base de l’évaluation d’entreprises : Principe 6

Principe nº 6 : La valeur est influencée par la liquidité. La valeur d’une entreprise est influencée par la liquidité de celle-ci. Liquidité peut faire référence à deux concepts : Facilité à vendre une entreprise et 2- Liquidité des actifs dans l’entreprise. Dans les deux cas, on parle de facilité de convertir un actif en argent. Dans cet article, nous allons discuter de la facilité de vendre une entreprise et de l’impact de cette facilité sur la valeur. La liquidité d’une entreprise versus celle d’une autre Plus une [...]

Lire la suite...
Marketing-entreprise

Augmentation de la valeur et de la rentabilité: Le marketing

Étant un expert en évaluation d’entreprises et un comptable professionnel agréé, je me suis spécialisé dans la détermination de la juste valeur marchande d’une entreprise. Je suis alors très bien placé pour définir des façons d’augmenter la rentabilité des entreprises et leur valeur. Lorsque je discute avec des clients qui veulent augmenter la rentabilité de leur entreprise ou sa valeur, il n’est pas rare qu’ils se soient fait conseiller en ce sens : « pour augmenter la rentabilité de [...]

Lire la suite...

Les 7 principes de base de l’évaluation d’entreprises: Principe 5

Principe nº 5 : Lorsqu’on considère que la valeur est égale à la valeur actualisée de tous les avantages futurs que le propriétaire devrait accumuler, cette valeur peut avoir deux volets distincts : la valeur commerciale (ou transférable) ou la valeur non commerciale (ou subjective). La définition de la juste valeur marchande fait, entre autres, référence au prix le plus élevé qu’un acheteur et un vendeur seraient prêts à négocier. Sans y faire directement allusion, il est clair que ce qui intéresse un [...]

Lire la suite...